Visiting with WNBA’s Megan Frazee

Megan Frazee, one-third of Liberty University’s women’s basketball’s Frazee triplets, just wrapped up her first season in the WNBA and started her first season in a Turkish Women’s Basketball League.

Her rookie season was exactly that. A first season against talent like she’s never seen as she squared off against the world’s  best women basketball  players, and she held her own. Frazee averaged 5.0 points per game and 2.9 rebounds per game in 29 appearances as a WNBA rookie. Frazee’s efforts helped the Silver Stars reach the WNBA Playoffs, where they fell 2-1 to Phoenix in the Western Conference semifinals.

After a season like this, you know there is such a bright future for her. She was kind enough to answer a few questions about the past, present and hopes for the future.

What was it like playing this year without having another Frazee to pass to?

It was different not playing with my sisters, but I had done it a few times previously, so I was kind of used to it. My teammates were very welcoming down in San Antonio, which was great. I loved playing with my sisters, but knew that after college we would most likely being taking different paths. My sisters are both nursing majors, so they are finishing up their degrees this fall at Liberty University. I am so proud of them, for working extremely hard!

Describe the WNBA lifestyle.

The WNBA lifestyle is one of being pretty busy when traveling, but it is also laid back as well. I was able to have a lot of down time to myself, which I enjoyed. It was nice being able to read for pleasure rather than having to study or read for school. I think one of the biggest things I enjoyed, was not having to juggle school and basketball at the same time. We are treated as professionals, which we are, so the training is very smart as well. Once again I was blessed to be on a team who had a lot of Christians, so we had a great time with one another!

Other than that, what was the toughest thing about your first season in the WNBA?

I have to say that for me, I’m not sure that there was anything extremely tough. The biggest transition for me was probably being away from family and friends. The Lord saw me through though, and it really wasn’t that bad at all. I started going to a church with one of my teammates, so I had a couple of families who kind of adopted me while I was down in Texas. The Lord sure does watch over his children, and for that I am thankful!

As I understand it, there are several Christian players and coaches on the Silver Stars. Do you mind sharing about that?

There are several players and coaches who are Christians. It was so nice coming from a place like Liberty University to go to a team who is spiritually sound. Whenever we could, we would have team Bible studies which was great! Several of the girls told me that San Antonio was a special place, and it definitely was. The WNBA lifestyle, as a whole, is probably categorized by a lot of people as very secular, but I can say that where I was there was definitely a lot of like minded people.

Now, you’re in Turkey. What are your initial feelings about that?

I was excited to be heading to Turkey. I had the privilege of going to North Africa last year, and really enjoyed the experience, so I was excited to get a taste of another culture. It is so neat to see different parts of God’s creation. I have been praying that the Lord would work through me to be a light for Him, wherever I go.

What have your first 10 days been like?

I have been here in Turkey about a week and a half, (Editor’s note: It took me a bit  to get this updated so she’s been there two weeks now) and love it so far! The people are very welcoming as well as my teammates. The Lord has blessed me once again. I am looking forward to getting to know my teammates better. We travel a lot by bus, so I am also excited to see the countryside of Turkey. It has been an adjustment being away from family and friends (this time on a totally different continent), but the Lord has sustained me. I am reminded of the verse, Philippians 4:19, that says, “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” God truly does supply each and every need that we may have ☺.

What part of your game are you most focused on trying to improve right now?

In the game of basketball, there is always something to work on. I am excited to be able to play some quality time on the court. Playing basketball games is where you can apply what you have practiced, and be able to put it into action! Offensively, I am focusing on continuing to be strong with the ball down low. Defensively, I want to continue to work on my approach to the ball and also work on my one-on-one defense. I learned a lot of things down in San Antonio, that I am hoping to be able to apply here in Turkey!

Turkey is a predominantly Muslim country, are you feeling led towards any type of ministry?

I would love to be able to do some type of ministry. I just recently met someone from an International School here in Ankara. He told me that if I ever want to help out with their girls basketball, that I could. Who knows what doors the Lord may open, but I am anxious to see what they may be. The field is ripe for harvest, and I would love to be able to help in any way to bring more people to the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ!

If you want more info on Frazee, here is a nearly 10-minute interview Frazee did with Liberty’s Nick Pierce and here’s a December of 2006 story that ESPN did.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Visiting with WNBA’s Megan Frazee

  1. Pingback: Christian Sports Online » Blog Archive » Visiting with WNBA’s Megan Frazee

  2. Molly

    Meg,

    What an awesome testimony for Him! Keep God first and you will continue to be a light for Him 🙂

Leave a Reply

