Adrian Peterson interview with Jim Brown

Something old, something borrowed, something blue, something new is a bride’s directive for her wedding day. Well, if I were a bride and I was about to get married, I’d almost be set. I’ve got something old (links below are about a week old), something new (the excerpt from the Adrian Peterson interview from The Sporting News) and something blue (I’m wearing blue socks). The only thing I’m missing is something borrowed, and I guess the links and the excerpt are all borrowed, so I could get married! However, I’m happily married, and I’m a guy, so I guess I can erase that whole bride thing.

So, first off, is a quick excerpt (the best part), from Minnesota running back Adrian Peterson’s interview with former Cleveland Brown running back Jim Brown, who The Sporting News once called the greatest professional football player ever.  It’s in the Aug. 3 issue.

BROWN: You’ve had some tragedies in your life. Have you been able to cope with those, come to grips with them?
PETERSON: Just by praying and giving God his time and knowing He’ll help you through no matter what it is, no matter what the situation. It’s not going to be easy, but he’ll make it a lot easier for you.

BROWN: Are you a religious person?
PETERSON: Yes sir.

BROWN: What would be the biggest principle in your religion that guides you in your life?
PETERSON: You can do all things through God, and he’ll never put more on you than you can bear. Those are two things that I’ve fallen back on. With my dad being gone, as bad as that was, God never gives you more than you can handle. My brother passed at a young age; I saw him get killed right in front of me. It’s knowing that God gives me the strength to deal with it and knowing that he’ll never give me more than I can handle.

Kurt Warner
CBSSports.com has a nice story about Kurt Warner, his faith and his realness.

Shrya Ely
“I am a very strong Christian and I believe that there is a plan and a path for everyone. I always try to find the message in everything and I would be so thankful for those practices, for that loss. It’s amazing to see how God works. There is a plan,” is how Shyra Ely, a former Tennessee Vol and WNBA player describes a former teammate’s brain aneurysm. Well, not the aneurysm, but the loss, that led to the practice, that led to the injury, that led to the discovery of the aneurysm.

Baylor athletes
These Baylor athletes took a life changing trip to Kenya.

Summer FCA
This Othello, Wash. senior used his FCA contacts when he decided to organize a camp as part of his senior project. Another FCA chapter in Texas had a clothes drive. This South Carolina FCA camp had 320 campers present at the basketball camp.

My apologies
But this is an old link, but still interesting, somewhat. Prayer doesn’t seem to be real big in soccer circles!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

