Talking about virginity

Tim Tebow was asked the following question at SEC Media Days:

Reporter: “Are you saving yourself for marriage?”

Tebow: (laughing) “Yes, I am.”

Another  reporter: “Tim, being a senior, uh, what would you say…

Tebow: (still laughing) “I think y’all are stunned right now. Y’all can’t even ask a question. Look at this, the first time ever. Wow, I was ready for the question. I don’t think y’all were though.”

So, now there’s an uproar in the press. Some are saying that silly blogger should have never asked such a question. Others are saying since Tebow is always talking about his faith, it was fair game.

My opinion is somewhere in between. In front of 300 people, the question could be deemed tacky. However, his faith is important to him, he’s happy to share his beliefs so more of a one-on-one type situation would have been more appropriate. But I don’t think Tebow minded, so maybe everyone else should chill. If you want to read the 8 lines the smart-alecky writer wrote about it, go here. The audio is at the bottom as well. 

Here’s much of the transcript from his press conference. It’s at the very bottom, right after Coach Meyer.  I started to just cut and paste the whole thing, but it would have been a little unwieldy.

Feel free to chime in and leave a comment on your view.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Talking about virginity

  1. I think the question was inappropriate in that setting. Had this been a 1-on-1 interview with Tebow where he was being asked about his career, life, and everything else then I could accept it better. I think Tebow handled it beautifully. He has always been very good with the press, and I agree with what he said. I think he was ready for the question but the press was not.

    As a UT grad and Vol fan it’s hard for me to speak highly of a Gator, but I think Tim Tebow is a first-class guy. I love the way he lives out his faith. He is genuine in what he believes and doesn’t try to put on a show for the press. Hats off to him for the way he handled this situation.

Leave a Reply

