Adrian Gonzalez, The Bull and Friday Night Lights

Adrian Gonzalez
The Padres first baseman is featured in this week’s Sports Illustrated. It’s a somewhat thorough feature but it leaves out his faith. His faith is very important to him, evidenced by his website, which I think is one of the best websites of any athletes out there. It’s a lot of original content that appears to be from Gonzalez, including updates on the season, Bible studies he finds interesting and his testimony.

Here’s where he talks a bout the meaning his relationship with Christ gives him. It’s at the About Us link on the site if you want to read it in its entirety. 

In 2003 while in Albuquerque I gave my life to Christ for the first time. My wife already a believer gave her life to Christ at the same time as well. Since that day my thoughts, and actions have taken a complete turnaround. In-turn my life has been saved thanks to the promises of love and salvation I’m promised by God. I now have a purpose and goal to life and that is to be next to my father, Lord and Savior when my day of judgment comes. I want to be a disciple of Christ and follow his teachings as well as draw others to follow and dedicate their life to Jesus Christ. Everyday is a new challenge and opportunity to make a difference. Life, baseball and everything is God given and if not for him we wouldn’t be here. That is the reason I will have a weekly bible quotes, and links to the churches and organizations that have helped me with my walk with the Lord.

The Bull
Nice little story on John “The Bull” Bramlett and his days playing football with Elvis (yes, that Elvis). If you don’t know who Bramlett is, read the story.  If you do know who he is, read the story. It’s a nice story. His book was enjoyable as well and his website tells about him and his ministry.

Riding the race
An editorial by a Blanco, Texas minister about sports parallels and the Christian faith.

Friday Night Light
The coach featured in the book, then the movie, then the television show, is returning to coach at Permian High School after a long time away from coaching. The word Christian is no where in this story but I think fans of the book or television show will appreciate it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

